summer salads

The warm weather has me experimenting with salads. My goal is usually to create a salad with rainbow of colors and high in protein.

Last night’s salad consisted of:

2 carrots chopped

handful of spinach

1 can garbanzo beans (rinsed of the canned bean slimy juice)

1 ear of corn- sliced off the cob of course

1 tomato diced

1/2 of a can of Trader Joe’s Fire Roasted Green Chilies

Dressing- 1/2 olive oil, 1/4 lemon juice, 1/4 white vinegar, salt and pepper

I was content with the end result. The green chilis were mildly spicy, so I added a bit of hot sauce to my own bowl for more of a kick.

Iced tea was the perfect match with my salad. I love my new find, Tejava, from Trader Joes. I like it as is (unsweetened) or with some fresh lemon or mint. So refreshing!

Does anyone have a salad recipe to share?

-jess

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

