beer and cheese

My Dad gifted Perry and I a mini keg of Newcastle that I suppose my Mom would not let him keep in the fridge. 

While strolling the aisles of Trader Joes, I came upon the Swiss Beer Fondue and thought it would be an appropriate match with the Newcastle. Plus, I had given Perry a mini fondue pot in his stocking for Christmas and thought it was about time to give it a try.

I cut up carrots, apples and some whole grain bread to dip.

The fondue tasted pretty good- almost close to “from scratch”…almost.

I also made a quick refreshing salad of

grapefruit, strawberries, carrots, edamame and spinach

and for the dressing I mixed

2 tablespoons white-wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, 1 tablespoon dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon honey and salt & fresh ground pepper (yes, I measured this time!)

Does anyone have a fondue recipe to share?

-jess

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Vegetarian

5 responses to “beer and cheese

  1. I’ve finally tried cheese fondue with beer and…it is simply amazing! At first, I thought it’s kinda weird, so I’m not really paying much attention with cheese fondue recipes with beer (even this instant Swiss Bear Fondue). Then my friend prepared a fondue dinner for her husband’s birthday, and guess what? Cheese fondue with beer is her appetizer! I simply love it now!

    • Yes, I’m with you. I had only tried fondue with wine (I think) up to this point. I really enjoyed the beer fondue and would definitely try it again!

  2. Christa

    My mom has an aaaaamazing cheese fondue recipe!!!

  3. i’ve never had cheese fondue, only chocolate. yours looks good!

Leave a Reply

