Arrghh matey

Hi everyone! I hope you had a great weekend! I started mine off with stir fry. One of my favorite dishes growing up was my Mom-Mom’s fried rice, which my cousins and I dubbed “blow-up” rice because you eat it until you blow up :). I started mimicking my Mom-Mom’s blow up rice a couple of years ago. I guess you’d say it is an Italian version of a Chinese favorite.  Here’s the recipe:

Cook white or brown rice (whatever your preference)

While rice is cooking, Heat vegetable oil in a large frying pan

Add 1/2 of a chopped onion and cook on medium/low heat until softened

Push the onions to one side of the pan to make room for cooking 3 eggs

Once eggs start cooking you can chop them up in pan and mix with the onion

Add cooked rice to the onion and egg mix

Add a few tablespoons of soy sauce to taste (can add a bit of water too if soy flavor is too strong)

I made stir fry with the fried rice- Not going to share the recipe because it did not come out the way I wanted. I added some fo-lobster that made the dish entirely too fishy. yuck.

On Saturday, my Dad, Perry and I went down to Fells Point, Baltimore to walk around and grab lunch. There was a Pirate Festival going on and let me tell you it was some great sight-seeing.

For lunch, we snagged a seat outside at Ridetide’s, which features tropical fusion cuisine.

Dad’s Mushroom Burger

Perry’s Crabcake w/ smoked bacon

My Black bean burger with avocado, fresh salsa and mango bbq sauce..mhmmm

I made an odd breakfast on Sunday. I think the only right it has to be coined breakfast is that it included bacon (vege). Perry was not too pumped to have hot sauce in the AM, but I think he ended up enjoying the meal.

Perry’s: Flour tortilla, avocado, bacon, shredded cheese, buffalo sauce

Mine: Whole wheat pita, 2 swiss cow cheese triangles, avocado, bacon, buffalo sauce

Do any of you ever have wierd cravings in the morning?

– Jess

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

