college friends and fondue

I spent a relaxing weekend outside of Phili with some friends from college. Saturday afternoon was gorgeous.  My friend Shawna and I drove up from Baltimore and met our friends Jamie, Clover and Lydia around 2pm for lunch.  We found outdoor seating at a local restaurant called http://www.solarisgrille.com/. They were a bit understaffed for the lunch rush, but we was just happy to have a seat outside and time to catch up.

Hummus Platter to share

A bit too greasy vegetable eggrolls

For dinner, Jamie (our host) planned a fondue dinner.  She was prepared with a Melting Pot cookbook and a Cuisinart fondue pot (I think I need to step my fondue game up; I only have a tiny pot that you have to light).

She made a cheddar fondue (w/ Worcestershire, horseradish, dry mustard and beer!) and then a chocolate/caramel/peanut butter combination for dessert. Needless to say we were stuffed.

Last night, I prepared some chicken salad for lunch. I substituted Greek yogurt for the usual mayonnaise and tofu for the chicken. I made the mistake of buying silken tofu, which crumbles easily. I won’t do that again (yuck!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

