I purchased a http://www.restaurant.com/ $25 gift certificate on sale for only $2 about half a year ago to Iron Bridge Wine Co, http://www.ironbridgewines.com/. I’ve been wanting to go ever since and finally was able to this last Friday night (only after asking my boyfriend daily for the last week)! I’m a big wine fan and really love the small plates that Iron Bridge offers. We tried to book a reservation last minute, but unfortunately the only space they had open was for 9:30pm. We decided to do a walk-in instead to try to get in sooner. We were told a 15-20 min wait, which ended up taking a little bit longer. During this time our hostess and wait staff was very hospitable checking on us and offering beverages. 

When we finally were seated, I already had in mind what I wanted to order. It was Foie Gras night, but me being vegetarian and my boyfriend wanting nothing to do with duck liver kept us from ordering the special. I started off with “A nice Merlot” and he ordered a Pinot Grigio. We then decided to share the crispy calamari, coconut shrimp and portobello and carmelized shallot pizza. The calamari was sooo fresh tasting, not chewy at all and came with a nice sauce, spicy red curry aioli, which was a nice change of pace from the usual marinara. 

The coconut shrimp were huge!! The 3 shrimp were plenty surprisingly for me and my boyfriend. I don’t think the picture does them justice.

 

And lastly the pizza. Ok, I have to admit I am not a pizza fan (gasp)- greasy cheese and white dough just isn’t my thing. But this pizza…it was fantastic! My boyfriend and I agreed that we will both be going back to get it again. The ingredients listed on the menu were red wine shallots, gruyere, baby arugula, balsamic reduction and truffle oil. Heaven. 

 

I plan to give Iron Bridge another visit soon on a Thursday night for “No corkage Thursday”. They waive the corkage fee on your choice of a bottle of wine- great deal! 

– Jess 

  

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “

  1. Perry

    Great meal, and great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

